Serbian Citizenship by Investment

Visa and general requirements for the initial visit to Serbia

Visas are not required for everyone Citizens of EU member nations and EU nations who are candidates for membership, do not need a passport and neither does anyone remaining in Serbia for under 90 days.

For citizens of other nations, invitation letters, approved by the authorized institution, must be obtained. To begin to work in Serbia, a foreigner must be given approval for temporary residence in addition to being approved for employment.

EU Citizens can now travel to Serbia with just an identification card and no longer need a passport to cross Serbian borders.

The Citizenship by Investment Program

Persons visiting Serbia are allowed to remain as long as their business takes, provided that:

  • Valid passport (passport must be valid at least 90 days from issue date of visa)
  • Letter of invitation:
    for a private visit – invitation letter certified by the relevant authority of the Republic of Serbia
    for a business visit – invitation letter by a company in Serbia;
    for a tourist trip – a proof of payment for the trip issued by a travel agency (voucher or other type of payment receipt);
  • Completed visa application form
  • Photo (size 3.5×4.5cm)
  • Return ticket or Itinerary (copy of Driving License and Insurance if you travel by car)
  • Proof of sufficient funds for staying in Serbia
  • Health insurance
  • Visa fee

Visas are not required for EU member nations or EU membership candidate nations. Visas may not be required from various other nations if the visitor is staying in Serbia under 90 days.


Citizens of:

Citizens of Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, FYR Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Singapore, Seychelles, Switzerland, Sweden, Slovenia, Spain, Slovak Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, UAE, Ukrain, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island, Uruguay and the USA may visit Serbia at any time.

For citizens of other nations, invitation letters approved by the authorized agency to obtain a Serbian visa are required.
EU citizens, as well as those from Switzerland, Norway and Iceland may travel to Serbia with merely an identification card and are no longer needed to have a passport for entering Serbia.